Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Christine Gero
Katie Greve

Greve, Katie

Teacher-High School

ksgreve@seattleschools.org
Daniel Gross

Gross, Daniel

History Teacher

djgross@seattleschools.org
David Grosskopf

Grosskopf, David

English Language Arts Teacher

ddgrosskopf@seattleschools.org

I've been teaching English at Roosevelt since 1997, only a few years after I graduated from there. English is the best subject to teach and take because it plays in psychology, morality, social critique, art, creativity and personal expression, philosophy and history, and because it demands a deeply personal engagement and humility.

Carolyn Hall

Hall, Carolyn

Teacher-High School

cahall@seattleschools.org

Personal Message

I teach 10th Grade World Literature and AP Language and Composition.

Frank Heffernan

Heffernan, Frank

Counselor-High School

fheffernan@seattleschools.org

Hopkins, Cody

Science Teacher

clhopkins@seattleschools.org

Mr. Hopkins teaches chemistry and freshman physical sciences. He also coaches on the varsity football staff during the fall and for the baseball team in the spring.

Holly Howe

Howe, Holly

Teacher -- Multilingual Learners

hacotton@seattleschools.org

I enjoy teaching Language Arts and Multilingual Learning at Roosevelt High School! As many of you know, my sons attended and graduated from RHS, and the Roosevelt community holds a special place in our hearts. Things I like to do in my free time? Visit the beach. Paddle board. Snow ski. Read. Write. Listen to great music. Chill with friends and family. I look forward to connecting with y'all!  

Robert Jackland

Jackland, Robert

Teacher-Special Education-XG

rajackland@seattleschools.org
Emily Jackson

Jackson, Emily

Biology Teacher

efjackson@seattleschools.org
Drea Jermann

Jermann, Drea

Teacher-High School

anjermann@seattleschools.org

I graduated from Roosevelt, my family went to Roosevelt, and I returned to Roosevelt to be a Language Arts & Social Studies teacher in 2010. In February 2022, I transitioned to be one of RHS’s Academic Intervention Specialist. I look forward to supporting our students, teachers, families and communities as we grow together find our joy and support all students to success.

Jennifer Johnson

Johnson, Jennifer

Certified Sign Language Interpreter

jmjohnson1@seattleschools.org
Katherine Johnson

Jordan, Dennice

Special Education Assistant for Deaf and Hard of Hearing

DNJordan@seattleschools.org

I am Dennice, Special Education Assistant for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing program at RHS, and guess what; I also graduated from RHS! It was a wonderful memory and now, I am glad to be working here. I attended SCCC and Gallaudet University. My educational experiences increased my work ethic. I am very motivated by watching students achieve their dreams and goals. My hobbies are cooking, hiking, & sharing a laugh. I consider myself organized and a great problem solver. I love helping students with their willingness to learn, and succeed.

Adam Karl

Karl, Adam

Teacher-High School

agkarl@seattleschools.org
Matthew Katinas

Katinas, Matthew

Physical Education

mnkatinas@seattleschools.org

I have been a teacher in the Seattle School District for 28 years. I have served as a substitute teacher, an elementary physical education teacher, athletic director, and for 19 of the past 21 years, a physical education/health teacher here at Roosevelt. My vision is to instill within each student the intrinsic value and enjoyment that comes from leading an active and healthy lifestyle and my mission is to enhance my students school day. This is supported by core values to know my students on an individual basis, to help make them feel valued, safe, and included as part of the R.H.S. community, and to give them the knowledge and skills to be fit for life – physically, mentally, and socially, capable to meet life’s challenges.

Richard Katz

Katz, Richard

Social Studies Teacher

rekatz@seattleschools.org

People say I am very funny, open minded, generous, gregarious, love laughing, and have the energy of a 16 year old. I enjoy discovering new things about myself, others, and the world. I also love helping out whenever there is a need where I can. I have been in Seattle since 1990 and love the fact that the city nourishes talent and incubates people as they grow as I was able to until they discover their gift or path in life. Mine turned out to be a passion for teaching Geography to young people. Looking forward to my 27th year teaching with a new challenge of AP Government and AP Comparative Government.

Tom Knapton

Knapton, Tom

Science Teacher

tjknapton@seattleschools.org
Karen Kosoglad

Kosoglad, Karen

Visual Art Teacher

kakosoglad@seattleschools.org

EDUCATION 1975,1976, 1977 University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin 1980 University of California, Santa Cruz - Bachelor of Arts 1982 Seattle Pacific University - Certification -Elementary Education & Art 1995 City University, Seattle, WA master’s in education - Curriculum & Instruction  Currently teaching at Roosevelt for my 3rd year and have taught in Seattle public Schools since 1993.

Tracy Landboe

Landboe, Tracy

Science Teacher

tglandboe@seattleschools.org

This will be my 14th year teaching science at Roosevelt High School. I am born and raised in the Pacific Northwest attended Shorewood high School followed by Maui College, Washington State University and then the University of Washington. I love the Pacific Northwest and being out in nature. My partner/husband and two sons are Norwegian citizens as well as US citizens. I bring my life long experience of exploring hunting, gathering and fishing to my courses which include NW Geology, Cellular Biology and NW Ecology.