Main navigation

Get Involved

Instructional Council (IC)

Instructional Council (IC) is a representative group of department chairs, administrators, parents and students at the building level that meet once each month to address issues promoting student learning. The IC provides leadership and direction to the school’s instructional program including evaluating new course proposals, classroom policies, current best practices, schedule changes, etc.

Department chair and administrator positions on the IC rotate dependent on position and contractual agreements. Parent rep positions rotate every two years.

Meetings:
First Tuesday of the Month
3:45-5:00 pm
Zoom

Meeting dates may be adjusted to accommodate school holidays and vacation periods. IC meetings are open to the public. Membership is not required to attend and participate in meetings. Everyone is invited. 

Agenda items may be submitted by anyone to the IC Chair via email or a note in his/her school mailbox by noon on the Friday before the meeting. The BLT chair, Principal and IC Chairperson formulate the agenda based on the items submitted. The curriculum issues are placed on the IC agenda and all others go on the BLT agenda. Some issues are discussed by both groups.

Students, staff, parents and community members are encouraged to attend meetings. Please contact the IC Chairperson if you have any questions about attending meetings or joining the IC.

Roster

Principal, HkwauaQueJol Hollins
hkhollins@seattleschools.org

Activity Coordinator, Kate Plesha
kaplesha@seattleschools.org

ELL, Sarah Willis
sawillis@seattleschools.org

Business, Michelle Carter
mlcarter@seattleschools.org

Counseling, Ron Stuart
rjstuart@seattleschools.org

Family and Consumer Science, Wendy Arness
wearness@seattleschools.org

Language Arts, David Grosskopf
ddgrosskopf@seattleschools.org

Library, Deborah Gallaher
dngallaher@seattleschools.org

Math, Royce Christensen and Beth Orme
rdchristensen@seattleschools.org
baorme@seattleschools.org

Performing Arts and IC Chair, Jean-Marie Kent
jekent@seattleschools.org

PE/Health, Matt Katinas
mnkatinas@seattleschools.org

Science, Max Rose
cmrose@seattleschools.org

Social Studies, Daniel Gross 
djgross@seattleschools.org

Special Ed, Tim Comstock 
tacomstock@seattleschools.org

Visual Arts, Morgan McElfresh 
mlmcelfresh@seattleschools.org

World Languages, Jeanne McGuire 
jmmcguire@seattleschools.org

Parent Representative, Bonnie Rochman 
bonnie.rochman@gmail.com

ASR Student Representative, Rotating