Staff Directory

  • Reset
Aimee Mell

Mell, Aimee

Choir Director, International Performing Arts

ajmell@seattleschools.org

Biography

  • B.M. Music Education;
  • M.M. Music Composition;
  • Ph.D. Candidate, Music History;
  • Smithsonian World Music Pedagogy Certificate;

She/her

Personal Message

Choral conductor Aimee Mell has a passion for connecting people, cultures, and ideas through music. Since 2019 she has led the relaunch of choirs at Lincoln High School. In 2013 she started the McClure MS choral program which has grown exponentially. A director of middle and high school choirs for over fifteen years in both public and private schools, she has also worked with select youth and adult community choirs. Her choirs have performed on NW Focus Live at 98.1 Classical King FM, and headlined regional festivals.

In 2019, Ms. Mell was selected as one of five American conducting fellows to travel to South Africa through the American Choral Directors Association International Conductors Exchange Program. As a part of the exchanges she worked with college, high school, and community choirs throughout Pretoria and Johannesburg.

Community involvement includes serving on boards for: Washington State ACDA (American Choral Directors Association), the Elliott Bay Music Educators Association, and the Tacoma Arts Commission. In 2020, Ms. Mell was appointed to the Seattle Opera Board of Trustees.

She enjoys spending time with her husband and Airedale Terrier Khaleesi, exploring the great Northwest, and travelling internationally.

Roy Merca

Merca, Roy

Assistant Principal

rmerca@seattleschools.org

Roy Merca has been an Assistant Principal at Roosevelt HS for 5 years.  Mr. Merca is a product of the Seattle Public Schools as he attended Graham Hill Elementary, Sharples Jr. HS and graduated from Franklin HS.  He got his bachelor’s in education at Eastern Washington University majoring in physical education with a minor in health and received a master’s degree in administration from Western Washington University. He taught physical education and health before going into administration. Mr. Merca was an Assistant Principal and Principal at Summit K-12, Pinehurst K-8, and Licton Springs K-8 before joining the Roosevelt administration team.  Mr. Merca was the tennis coach here at Roosevelt HS in the early 90’s. His hobbies include playing golf, pickleball, walking his dog on trails, and following all Seattle sports teams.  Mr. Merca will be serving students with last names starting with letters A-Gil. 

Frederica Merrell

Merrell, Frederica

Math Teacher

frmerrel@seattleschools.org

I love helping our scholars tackle math learning. We can all do it! There is great joy in success!

Dana Miller

Miller, Dana

HS Data Registration Spec-222

dtmiller@seattleschools.org
Judson Miller

Miller, Judson

Math Teacher

jjmiller@seattleschools.org

After graduating from Western Washington University with a B.S. in Mathematics and then completing a masters in teaching, I began teaching at Roosevelt in 2001. I have taught all levels of math and I truly enjoy helping students find success in this challenging topic. Outside of school I love spending time with my kids and riding bikes of all shapes and sizes.

Michael Miller

Miller, Michael

Math Teacher

mamiller@seattleschools.org

I have enjoyed being part of the Roosevelt community since 2002. Before that, I served in the Peace Corps in Kenya, where I also taught math. I currently live in West Seattle with my wife and two daughters.

Angela Mischke

Mischke, Angela

World Language Teacher - French 2, 3, 4

ammischke@seattleschools.org

Madame Mischke is originally from Independence, KY but also lived in Paris and Normandy before moving to Seattle. Her favorite hobbies are baking, paddle boarding, weightlifting, and reading. She also loves to knit and crochet while re-watching her favorite shows.

Jonah Mix

Mix, Jonah

Math Teacher

jpmix@seattleschools.org

Born and raised in the Pacific Northwest, I'm a mathematician and educator who can't wait to help Roosevelt students have exciting, enriching experiences with mathematics.

Monterrubio, Mary

Instructional Assistant

mamonterrub1@seattleschools.org
James Moser

Moser, James

CTE / Business Education & Language Arts

jamoser@seattleschools.org

Born and raised in Spokane, Mr. Moser earned BA’s in English & Business Admin. at WSU. Later, he earned a M.Ed. from UW. This is his 23rd year teaching, in Language Arts and as an IEP Provider. Mr. Moser is excited to return to “general ed” this year as a 9th LA teacher, which he's been supporting here in the 9th co-taught model, the past seven years. In Business Ed, he'll be sharing lessons learned during a 20-year "side-hustle" in real estate.

Mowry, Hannah

Teacher - High School

hsmowry@seattleschools.org

Nguyen, Tuan

Specialist Technology Support

tjnguyen@seattleschools.org

Noji, Amy

Teacher - High School

aanoji@seattleschools.org
Ian Ogburn

Ogburn, Ian

Special Education Asst/ISE - 203/7

imogburn@seattleschools.org
Beth Orme

Orme, Beth

Math Teacher, Math Department Co-Chair

baorme@seattleschools.org

I have taught Math and/or Theatre at RHS since 1996. I hold a double major in Math and Drama from the U of W and a MA in Theatre Production from Central Washington. I’m the mom of two kids, Grace and Henry and wife to Matthew. My Grandpa, Lou graduated from RHS in 1934. My favorite vacation places include but are not limited to the Oregon Coast, Yellowstone National Park, and Disneyland. And as a Seattle native, my coffee order is a double tall nonfat latte- iced or hot depending on the season!

Ron Paulson

Paulson, Ron

Bilingual Instructional Assistant

ripaulson@seattleschools.org
Eric Pedersen

Pedersen, Eric

Special Education Teacher

erpedersen@seattleschools.org

I have 17 years of experience in classroom instruction, school administration, and curriculum development and design. After taking a break to be a stay-at-home dad of four, I am excited to return to the classroom as a special education teacher in the Distinct Program at Roosevelt High.

Janith Pewitt

Pewitt, Janith

Language Arts Teacher

jmpewitt@seattleschools.org

Phillips, Henry

504 Specialist

hhphillips@seattleschools.org